Towards building sustainable and co-created
telemedicine systems in Western Balkan Countries
Tirana, September 4-8, 2023


The Summer School addresses all medical topics towards building sustainable and co-created telemedicine systems in Western Balkan Countries.

The WHO has issued a document outlining key strategic points for improving the quality of healthcare in the Western Balkans region. One of these points is the Western Balkans’ Initiative for Digital Health Transformation in Primary Health Care (PHC), with the overall goal of accelerating the digital transformation of the Western Balkans’ health sector, with a focus on supporting patient and health management and telemedicine in PHC. Interregional collaboration is critical to mitigate the risks posed by the significant lack of harmonization in healthcare, including telemedicine, in the Western Balkans. 
The Summer School offers four theme days. Special emphasis is placed on discussion with the experts and direct consultation with the participants.

This is not limited to the session, but is extended into breaks and activities. The choice of time and place favors the possibility of participation by decision-makers in the field. In addition, a visit to a relevant institution is planned on the last day. The summer school will be concluded by an excursion to take away cultural and scenic impressions of Albania.

Prof. Dr. Ralf Seepold
(HTWG Konstanz)

Prof. Dr. Elma Zanaj
(Polytechnic University of Tirana)

Summer School

The Summer School offers four theme days: Young Researcher, Sustainability, Co-Creation and Ethics. Special emphasis is placed on discussion with the experts and direct consultation.

The following sessions are planned:

  • Sustainable Telemedicine systems
  • Interregional health policies
  • Healthcare professionals and patients
  • Co-Creation of Telemedicine services
  • Telemedicine Roadmap
  • Ethics workshop
  • PhD Panel, Poster sessions and Students’ challenge

Objectives and goals

  • Strengthening the interdisciplinary profile of young scientists
  • Promote sustainable and interregional telemedicine models
  • Supporting user-centered design of telemedicine services
  • Roadmap planning
  • Public availability of the results


The participation is not limited to the region but it is open for all interested participants. According to the limitation of available installations, a registration id required. In addition, a limited amount of DAAD Summer School Scholarships is available. The Summer School is supported by HTWG Konstanz and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) with grant no. 57663287 and the Polytechnic University of Tirana.


It is planned to celebrate the Summer School at the Polytechnic University of Tirana, Albania.


The registration will be opened in February 2023. More information will be published here.

Summer School Committee

General Chairs and Organizers

Prof. Dr. Ralf Seepold
Prof. Dr. Elma Zanaj

Activities and Local Arrangement Committee

Akhmadbek Asadov, Ubiquitous Computing Lab, HTWG Konstanz, Konstanz, Germany

Members of the Faculty

Albania: Prof. Dr. E. Zanaj, Faculty of Information Technology, Polytechnic University of Tirana
Bosnia und Herzegovina: Prof. Dr. A. Badnjevic, Faculty of Pharmacy Sarajevo, U Sarajevo, and International Burch U Sarajevo
Bulgaria: Prof. Dr. P. Mihova, Department of Health Care and Social Work, New Bulgarian University
Greece: Prof. Dr. P. Bamidis, Faculty of Health Sciences, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki; Dr. G. E. Dafoulas, Faculty of Medicine, University of Thessaly; Prof. Dr. E. Protopapadakis, Department of Philosophy, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
Kosovo: Prof. A. Boci, National Engineering and Biomedical Center (Ministry of Health)
Montenegro: Prof. Dr. R. Stojanovic, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Univercity Montenegro
Romania: Prof. Dr. M. Focsa, Dpt. Medical Informatics and Biostatistics, Victor Babes University of Medicine and Pharmacy of Timisoara
Serbia: Prof. Dr. G. Devedzic, Faculty of Engineering, University of Kragujevac
Germany: Prof. Dr. N. Martinez Madrid, Reutlingen University; Prof. Dr. R. Seepold, HTWG